AUGUSTA, Ga. (AP) — If Phil Mickelson were in charge, Lexi Thompson would have been the one taking the leap into Poppie’s Pond at the ANA Inspiration.
Mickelson tried to avoid speaking specifically about Thompson being penalized four shots for a day-old rules violation for replacing her golf ball in the wrong spot on the putting green. But he couldn’t help himself. And along the way, he raised questions about that happening on the PGA Tour.
“To have a tournament be decided like that, with all the scenarios going around, as far as viewers calling in, as far as it being a 1-foot putt with really no advantage, just a little bit of loose marking, if you will, something that happens all the time, intentionally and unintentionally … I think it should be reversed,” Mickelson said Tuesday. “I think that she should be given the trophy.”
Thompson’s violation occurred on the 17th hole Saturday of the LPGA Tour’s first major of the year when she marked her…